lfm banner


Credits and Contacts


These online resources are provided by NASA's Quest Project located at the NASA Ames Research Center. The Quest Project is supported by the NASA Learning Technologies Project of NASA's Office of High Performance Computing and Communications.

The responsible NASA official is Karen Traicoff (ktraicoff@mail.arc.nasa.gov).


This project is only possible with the dedicated support of the men and women who work to unlock the secrets of Mars. These people are are donating their time to support K-12 education. A special thanks to Mars Team Online volunteer experts.


Sandy Dueck (sandy@quest.arc.nasa.gov) leads the overall online effort, with support from Dan Helfman (witten@quest.arc.nasa.gov), Oran Cox (oran@quest.arc.nasa.gov) and Marc Siegel (msiegel@quest.arc.nasa.gov). This Mars Team Online Webspace was designed and implemented by Sandy, Dan, Marc and Linda Conrad (lindac@quest.arc.nasa.gov). In addition, the following people have made significant contributions: Chris Tanski (ctanski@mail.arc.nasa.gov), Nathan Hickson, Irene Calizo, and Jennifer Sellers (sellers@quest.arc.nasa.gov). High school seniors Noel Pacheco and Dan Munro also contributed as part of an unpaid internship.

Graphics were designed and produced by Linda McClung (lmcclung@rspac.ivv.nasa.gov) of RSPAC. Stratis Kakadelis (skakelis@rspac.ivv.nasa.gov) was very helpful during this process. Some of the opening page icons were contributed by Dave Faust (dfaust@mail.arc.nasa.gov) of the NASA Ames Documentation Technology Branch.

The Webmaster and System Administrator of Quest is Alan Federman (federman@quest.arc.nasa.gov), with technical support from Ted Hardie and Chris Yarnell.

The Smart Filters are a group of volunteers who helped process questions from classrooms via email. Our ability to handle thousands of questions is made possible by wonderful public domain software originally written by Rob Menke (rmenke@netcom.com) and later updated by Dan Helfman (witten@quest.arc.nasa.gov) who, as a high school student, volunteered his time one summer.

Mars Team Online began life as a Passport to Knowledge project called Live From Mars. At the time, it received funding support from the Mars Exploration Directorate of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) , PBS Teacher Resource Services and Public Television. The Project Director and Executive Producer of Live From Mars was Geoff Haines-Stiles (ghaines@mail.arc.nasa.gov). Geoff was responsible for the overall project as well as for the television and print materials.

Jan Wee (jwee@mail.arc.nasa.gov) was a vital force early on in helping to grow and support the online community of like-minded teachers who first participated in Live From Mars.

The Virtual Tour of Ares Vallis enhanced version was produced by Gene Kusekoski (kusekoski@zko.dec.com).

The Weather Worlds student activity was organized and managed by teachers Eileen Bendixson (ebend@netlabs.net) and Susan Hurstcalderone (calderone@sysnet.net).